Board of Governors

HEC's Board of Governors is comprised of 33 persons elected from member companies, including a seven-member Executive Committee. While 24 represent the island of Oahu, three each represent the counties of Hawaii, Kauai, and Maui. The Governors have the duty to conduct, manage, and control the affairs and business of the Hawaii Employers Council.





Picture of Jim AlbertsJim Alberts
Sr. Vice President of Customer Service
Hawaiian Electric Company


Nelson N.S. Chun
Senior Vice President & Chief Legal Officer
Alexander & Baldwin, Inc.


Kevin Dietsch
Vice President
Matson Terminals, Inc.


*Kurt Fey
Executive Director
Y. Hata & Co., Limited


Jason Fujita
Vice President, Consumer Sales and Product Marketing
Hawaiian Telcom


Jan Harada
President & CEO
Helping Hands Hawaii


*Percy Higashi
President and COO
Roberts Hawaii, Inc.


Dean Kapoi
VP, HR and Labor Relations
Hawaiian Tug & Barge/Young Brothers, Ltd.


Kaleo Kekoolani
Senior Vice President, HR
Bank of Hawaii


John Knorek
Torkildson, Katz, Moore, Hetherington & Harris


Barry Marr
Marr Jones & Wang LLLP


*Janna Nakagawa
Senior Vice President, Governance and Corporate Services
Hawaii Medical Service Association


Linda Nakaima
Director, Human Resources
Halekulani Corporation and Waikiki Parc Hotel


Paul Naso
General Counsel
Hawaii Employers' Mutual Insurance Company, Inc.


Dan Nellis
Operations Director and General Manager
Dole Food Company Hawaii


Lynne Nishiura
Vice President of Human Resources
Island Insurance Co., Ltd.


*Gregg Oishi
Senior Vice President and CAO
Kuakini Health System


Bruce Rosen
Executive Vice President
Hawaii Central Federal Credit Union


*Paul Saito
Cades Schutte, LLP


Winona White
Managing Director, Human Resources
Kamehameha Schools


Glenn Yamashita
VP of Finance
Honolulu Cookie Company






Glenn Hashimoto
Suisan Group, Inc.


**Toby Taniguchi
President & COO
KTA Super Stores






Joe Bradley
Editor and Publisher
The Maui News


Kurt Matsumoto
Chief Operating Officer
Pūlama Lānaʻi


Joyce Tamori
Maui Region CFO
Maui Memorial Medical Center







Fred Cowell
General Manager
Kauai Coffee Company, LLC


Justin Ganaden
Executive Vice President
Kauai Community FCU


Michael Yamane
Chief of Operations
Kauaʻi Island Utility Cooperative



*Executive Committee      
**Chairman of the Board